New beginnings

New beginnings

Welcome! I’ve been playing around with this WordPress site for a bit now, and I’m really starting to enjoy it.  But the content of my blog will be about anything but playing. You see, I’ve been fortunate enough to build my career in the housing industry. I believe that, right now, America’s housing industry (mortgage, settlement services, realty, home building) is emerging from the greatest crisis in its history and entering what should be a time of self reflection.  Should every American own a home?  To what extent should the mortgage lender be forced to take on risk?  Is it the federal government’s job to keep an entire industry liquid or present a backstop for financial crisis?  There are a lot of bright people out there hashing this out right now.

Consider this my two cents on the matter. I’ve been around long enough to see how things really work inside The Beltway as well as in the mortgage lending board room. I’ve run companies that work for the lenders and companies that lobby the Senators.  In short, I’ve had the privilege of seeing things from a number of perspectives.

It’s my hope that you’ll find this collection of thoughts and articles to be stimulating. Consider it another informed opinion (whether or not you agree is another matter) designed to light the fires of healthy discussion and debate.

Oh…and please excuse any typos or formatting errors.  I’m still getting the hang of this!

Leave a Reply

